tarot

Sasha Graham's Tarot Card a Day Blog

Strength

 08-strength.jpg

Inner Power.

 

Okay. I have to be honest. It came time to draw my card of the day and I didn’t like what I picked. I chose another, didn’t like it, and chose another. Finally, it became clear the message the cards were sending me. I just picked the Strength card out of the deck because it looked like there might be a problem heading down the road. I figured if something weird might happen, I could just focus on my inner strength to help me get through it. I put it far out of my mind. I didn’t want to ruin my day based on a few cards (Seven of Swords, Eight of Swords, Chariot reversed).

The day wasn’t a total nightmare. As a matter of fact, most of it was quite lovely. Then, my daughter threw the mother of all tantrums at a play date. It was awful and left me feeling like a complete failure. Later that evening, my husband graciously put her to bed and I went to the movies to see a film based on a book I really enjoyed. It was not a good movie at all and I pondered the Strength card as I walked home. Had I utilized my inner Strength to act in the best way when my daughter started freaking out? Doubtful. Had I somehow created her tantrum by thinking something bad might occur based on the cards I pulled? Okay, thinking like that will drive me crazy! I had to let it go. Four year olds spaz out sometimes, just a fact of life. Maybe if I use the imagery on the card it will aid in how I deal with the situation, next time she has a tantrum – assuming there is a next time.

The Strength tarot card talks about using your strong inner power. It is only through a resolute and firm belief in oneself that the trainer is able to exert calmness over the large lion looming over her. Can I be stronger and more resolute the next time a situation like that occurs? Absolutely. Can I do better? Yes, I can. Can I be strong without being to controlling? Good question and I hope so. Normally, I end my blog with questions turned around to you, the reader. Right now, I’m still trying to figure them out for myself.

One thought on “Sasha Graham's Tarot Card a Day Blog

  1. If I remember correctly, Strength is traditionally the eleventh card and Justice the eighth, but the influential Rider-Waite-Smith deck switched the position of these two cards in order to make them a better fit with the astrological correspondences worked out by the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn, under which the eighth card is associated with Leo and the eleventh with Libra. Today many decks use this numbering, particularly in the English-speaking world. Both placements are considered valid.

Leave a Reply

